THE PEAVEY T-40 BASS ENTHUSIASTS FORUM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

THE PEAVEY T-40 BASS ENTHUSIASTS FORUM

A FORUM FOR PEAVEY T-40 BASS ENTHUSIASTS

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Another newbie here!

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
ddbass

ddbass

Another newbie here! Empty
PostSubject: Another newbie here!   Another newbie here! I_icon_minitimeWed Jul 23, 2008 12:05 am

Hi everyone. Having just scored my 1st T40 today from a random music store acquisition (a white/maple/toaster 1980 model I suspect) for $170 including OHSC, I've been scouring the web for T40 resources and it looks like I've found it.

I've been jonesing for one for quite a while. 2 students of mine have them and I was surprised to see how many color options there are. I was holding off on getting a natural one. Not sure why; just figured I'd hold off for a cool color. When I accidentally stumbled upon the white one today for such a reasonable price, I jumped at it.

Like one of the other posters here, I'm also an predominantly an Alembic guy. Sure I also philander with various Fenders, Gibsons and Deans, but my main bass is an Alembic 6 string. Having said that, my favorite bass of all time is my '91 Thunderbird. Go figure.

The T40 seems to have tonal similarities to the Tbirds - big, deep low end and clangy highs. Plus the odd tone knob and phase switches are reminiscent of the Alembic's capabilities. All in all, I think I'm going to enjoy playing it at my gigs this w/e.

I'll be digging around on here and will probably post more as I get acquainted with my new bass. Can't wait to hear how she sounds in the studio.

Cheers, all.

Dave
Back to top Go down
http://www.davedemarco.com
kevdel

kevdel

PostSubject: Re: Another newbie here!   Another newbie here! I_icon_minitimeWed Jul 23, 2008 10:14 am